Top 5 Things to Know about the Six Nations Tournament

One of the most famous rugby competitions in Europe is the Six Nations Rugby Tournament. This competition brings together six countries: England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, France and Italy. You have heard about this competition, but you know very little about it? Here are 5 things to know about this tournament.

England has the best record of achievements

England is the country that won the competition the most. In fact, in 125 years of competition, the XV de la Rose have won the championship 39 times. Would you like to learn more about the XV de la Rose and the games they played in 2020? Find out more at .

The tournament was not always between six countries

The Six Nations Tournament was not always called that. Indeed, at the beginning only four nations participated and the tournament was then called Home Nation Championship. In 1910, France joined the competition which then became the 5 Nations Tournament. 90 years later, in 2000, Italy also joined the tournament, which from then on became the six-nation tournament.

The competition celebrated its 125th edition in 2019

The Six Nations Championship was established in 1882. However, there were some interruptions. That is why it only celebrated its 125th anniversary in 2019. It was also the 20th anniversary of the competition under the name of the Six Nations Tournament.

France was excluded from the tournament

It is also important to note that France was excluded from the tournament for a while. Indeed, after entering the tournament in 1910, France was blamed and excluded from the tournament in 1931 for lack of professionalism. It was not until 1939 that France was admitted again.

The matches are always played in the same stadiums

For the Six Nations Tournament, the matches always take place in the same stadiums. There are six stadiums, one per country. These stadiums are Twickenham Stadium in London, Stade de France in Saint Denis, Millennium Stadium in Cardiff, Olympic Stadium in Rome, Murrayfield Stadium in Edinburgh and Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

The Six Nations Tournament is therefore held every year between these six nations. It is also important to note that there is a junior and a women's version of this tournament. The women's version was created in 1996 and the junior version was played for the first time in 2008.